Maryland Aggressive Driving Laws
Aggressive driving is a very serious traffic offense in Maryland. The reason behind MD Aggressive Driving Laws, as well as other traffic offense laws, are to ultimately make all Maryland roads, highways and interstates safer for those traveling them.
Maryland Aggressive Driving Defense Lawyers
MD Aggressive Driving Laws
No person shall drive any vehicle in an aggressive manner, as defined by this section, and such offense shall be known as aggressive driving.
For purposes of this section, “aggressive manner” shall mean that an individual engages in continuous conduct which violates 3 or more of the following:
Aggressive driving occurs when an individual commits a traffic offense that endangers other people or property. Behaviors include a variety of dangerous driving maneuvers:
- Running red lights and stop signs
- Improper passing
- Failing to yield the right of way
- Driving on a roadway emergency lane
Whoever violates this section shall for the first offense be fined not less than $100 nor more than $300 or be imprisoned not less than 10 nor more than 30 days, or both. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 3 years of a former offense, the person shall be fined not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 or be imprisoned not less than 30 nor more than 60 days, or both, and the person shall have their driving privileges suspended for a period of 30 days.
In addition to the license suspension and financial penalties imposed whoever violates this section shall be ordered to complete a course of instruction established by the Secretary to address behavior modification or attitudinal driving. The Secretary shall administer such courses and programs and adopt rules and regulations therefor, and shall establish a schedule of fees for enrollment in such courses and programs that shall not exceed the maximum fine imposed pursuant to subsection (c) of this section.
Nothing in this section shall be construed to preclude or otherwise limit a prosecution of or conviction for a violation of this chapter or any other provision of law. A person may be prosecuted and convicted of both the offense of aggressive driving and 1 or more underlying offenses as defined elsewhere by the laws of the State.
Penalties For Maryland Aggressive Driving Conviction
If you are convicted of breaking Maryland aggressive driving law you maybe subject to a fine between $100.00-$300.00 and/or 10-30 days in jail. Your driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days. In addition you will also be required to complete a MVA behavior modification class. Since Maryland operates on a point system you will get 6 points on your license. Some secondary penalties are increased insurance premiums, possibly being dropped by your insurance carrier or an inability to get auto insurance.
If you receive a subsequent offense within 3 years the fines will increase to between $300.00-$1,000.00, you will be sentenced to jail for 30-60 days and your driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days.
Contact Our Maryland Aggressive Driving Attorneys
If you have been charged with aggressive driving in Maryland please contact our Maryland aggressive driving traffic ticket lawyers to protect your rights and driving privileges. Some are former prosecutor and will use his knowledge of the law to aggressively defend your rights in an effort to achieve the most favorable outcome possible. This know all about Maryland Aggressive Driving Laws & will ideally keep any negative legal, professional & financial consequences to a minimum. You can click here to email our Annapolis traffic ticket lawyers.