Maryland DUI And DWI Laws

A drunk driving charge/conviction can result in serious repercussions if you do not hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. In Maryland, a first time drunk driving charge will result in both criminal and administrative consequences. At our law practice, most of our clients who are charged with a DUI/DWI have never been arrested before. Our clients are looking for answers to their legal problems which we are happy to provide. Contact us for more information about how we defend accused drunk drivers throughout Maryland. Read on to learn more about Maryland DUI and DWI laws.

Maryland DUI Charges Overview

In Maryland, a person can be charged with either driving under the influence of alcohol or driving while intoxicated. If a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or greater, he/she will be charged with a DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol). If a person’s BAC is .04% to .07%, he/she will be charged with a DWI (driving while intoxicated).

Having just one drink of a strong beer can result in your BAC being above the legal limit. Do not let one bad mistake ruin your life. Our Elkton DUI attorneys can help get the charge asserted against you reduced or completely dropped. Our Wheaton Maryland DWI attorneys are skilled in negotiating plea bargains on behalf of our clients.

DUI Fines, Penalties & Sentencing

If you are charged with a first offense DWI, you could face up to 2 months in jail and pay a fine of not more than $500. If you are charged with a first offense DUI, you could face up to a year in jail and pay a fine of not more than $1,000.

If you are charged with a second offense DWI, you could face up to 1 year in jail and pay a fine of not more than $500. If you are charged with a second offense DUI, you could face up to two years in prison and pay a fine of not more than $2,000. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car for a second offense conviction.

If you are charged with a third offense DWI or DUI, you could face up to 3 years in prison and pay a fine of not more than $3,000. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device.

Administrative Penalties

A first offense DWI will result in an automatic driver’s license suspension for up to six months. You will have to complete an alcohol abuse assessment and treatment program in order to have the suspension withdrawn. A Maryland first offense DUI will result in an automatic driver’s license suspension for up to 6 months as well. Your license may be reinstated following the suspension period. Each subsequent offense will result in 6 additional months of suspension.

You can request a hearing to contest the allegations against you regarding the suspension of your driver’s license. Most drivers will hire their DUI attorney to accompany them to the hearing for representation. Contact our Upper Marlboro DUI lawyers for more information about how to get your driver’s license back.

In addition, because Maryland has an implied consent law pertaining to consent in taking a chemical test, if you refused to take the test, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 120 days.

Hire Our College Park Maryland Drunk Driving Attorneys

Contact our Salisbury Maryland drunk driving attorney today for legal advice and counseling. Our attorney will handle your matter in confidence and provide you with all possible solutions that do not result in jail time or paying hefty fines. Call