Maryland Drugged Driving Attorney

Drugged driving criminal consequences are just as serious as drunk driving. If you or a loved one has been charged with drugged driving in Maryland, contact our criminal defense attorney for legal guidance and advocacy. Under Maryland law, a person will be charged if he/she drives under the influence of any type of drug that negatively affects his/her driving abilities (example – prescription, over-the-counter, or a controlled substance). Read on to learn more about Maryland drugged driving laws.

Maryland Drugged Driving Laws Overview

Maryland’s drugged driving laws are discussed in Maryland Annotated Code Section 21-902.

A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while he is so far impaired by any drug, any combination of drugs, or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol that he cannot drive a vehicle safely.

It is not a defense to any charge of violating this subsection that the person charged is or was entitled under the laws of this State to use the drug, combination of drugs, or combination of one or more drugs and alcohol, unless the person was unaware that the drug or combination would make the person incapable of safely driving a vehicle.

As noted above, it is a crime to drive under the influence of any drug, regardless if it’s prescribed under law. If the drug affects a person’s driving ability, he/she will be arrested and charged accordingly. Unlike driving under the influence of alcohol, there is no set minimum standard of impairedness. If a person test positive for drugs, he/she will be charged. Stimulants, depressants, and hallucinogens all impact driving skills. Though you may believe you are okay to drive, if you are involved in an accident, and it is discovered that you consumed a drug prior to driving, you will be taken into custody, tested for drugs, and charged accordingly if positive results return.

The following are a list of common prescription drugs and recreational drugs associated with drugged driving DUI:

  1. Vicodin
  2. Valium
  3. Percocet
  4. Ambien
  5. Xanax
  6. Heroin
  7. Marijuana
  8. Crack cocaine

Fines, Penalties & Sentencing

A first offense will result in a person spending up to 2-12 months in jail, a fine of $500, driver’s license suspension of up to 45 days, and the completion of a drug/alcohol education program. The court may accept the payment of the fine in lieu of a person serving a jail sentence.

A second offense within 5 years of the first offense will result in a person serving at minimum 48 hours in jail to up to 2 months, paying up to a $2,000 fine, driver’s license suspension of up to 90 days, and the completion of a drug/alcohol education program.

A third offense within 5 years of the first offense will result in a person serving up to 3 years in jail, paying up to a $3,000 fine, driver’s license suspension of up to 18 months, and the completion of a drug/alcohol education program.

Hire Maryland Drugged Driving Attorney

Contact our Maryland drugged driving defense attorney to discuss your case in confidence. Our defense attorney will review the merits of your case and provide you with a list of options you may have in getting the charge asserted against you reduced or completely dismissed.

Our MD drugged driving lawyers serve all of MD including Elkton, Bel Air, Towson, Baltimore, Essex, Annapolis, Columbia, Laurel, Bowie, College Park, UMB, UMBC, Towson University, La Plata, Prince Frederick, Leonardtown, Beltsville, Rockville, Wheaton, Silver Spring, Frederick, MD.